Hon. Nii Adjei Tawiah, the Korle Klottey Municipal Chief Executive, has assured the Ministry of Transport that, the municipal assembly will continue to engage the community to solicit their input and ensure a smooth process of the Osu landing beach project.

According to the Nii Adjei Tawiah the project by its nature will come with discomfort because some structures may be demolished while other people may be displaced. It may also create traffic because of the heavy trucks to convey construction materials to site and asked for them cooperate to enable the contractors to work on the project for us.

The forum, organised by the Ministry and the Korle Klottey Municipal Assembly, was to sensitise the community on the project and solicit their input to enhance speedy delivery.

Deputy Minister of Transport Hon. Hassan Tampuli appealed to residents living around the construction site of the Osu Fishing Port project to give maximum cooperation to the contractors to facilitate early completion.

Again, “Government also sought to create and maintain hygienic environment and potential job opportunities within the fishing communities. It is against this background that the Ministry is undertaking the development of the Fish Landing sites along the Coast,” he added.

The Osu Landing Beach project is one of 10 of such beaches, which are being constructed by China Harbour and Engineering Company.
It is expected to be completed in July 2022 and would house a modern fish market, net mending hall, fish-smoking pavilion, ice plant, washrooms and fuel and power stations.

Dr Zanetor Agyemang-Rawlings, the Member of Parliament of Korle-Klottey, said the project would protect the shore-line from the devastating effect of tidal waves.

She called on the Ministry of Fisheries and Aquaculture Development to ensure that the annual closed season included all person’s fishing in the country’s waters to enable the initiative to yield the maximum results.

Other beneficiary coastal towns include Teshie, Axim, Dixcove, Elmina, Moree, Mumford, Winneba, Senya Beraku, and Gomoa Fetteh.